We have an updated Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions and other policies on the site. Please review all of them using the links in the footer.

Welcome Forum The Lounge Anyone know any CSS Formatting?

• This topic has 6 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 19 years ago by Anonymous.
  • Creator
    Topic
    Garibaldi
    Keymaster

Could anyone give me a hand in adding CSS to my site? I’m very new to web-design and so I don’t know much about CSS, but I hear that its the thing to use to make everything better. From my understanding I could use format.css in my root folder to display the site title, the buttons on the sidebar, the background color or pattern, the text color, and the link color. Therefore the only thing that I would have to actually put on each page of the site is the info that goes there, like News on the homepage or Events on the Events page. Is this correct?

Also could someone help me add scrollbars to some of my pages?
    Thanks.

Viewing 6 replies - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Anonymous
    Inactive
    Quote:
    From my understanding I could use format.css in my root folder to display the site title, the buttons on the sidebar, the background color or pattern, the text color, and the link color.

CSS applys formatting it doesn’t have anything to do with content, a html page can display without CSS. It will look like shit but it will still display. Hit the view>source button on your browser, at the very top you’ll find the css for this page between <style type=”text/css”> and </style>

http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp

Anonymous
    Inactive

Or even better yet start here: http://www.w3schools.com/default.asp

Garibaldi
    Keymaster

Ok, I’ve gone through their tutorial and came up with this for my format.css in my root folder:

Quote:
    <head>
    /* background colors */
    <style type=”text/css”>
    body {background-color: black}
    h1 {background-color: #000000}