Welcome Forum The Drag Strip Show off your classic for Automotive Day

• Creator
    Topic
    Garibaldi
    Keymaster

Hi Everyone,

We received an email today from an automotive instructor at MATC. He is organizing an Automotive Career Day to highlight the work done in the auto industry and encourage interest in that field. Here’s the rest of his message:

Quote:
    My name is John Palacios, I am an automotive instructor at MATC and I am organizing an Automotive Career day for area High Schools. I was just curious if you or someone you know might be interested in showing a few classic autos? Last year we had a nice Chevelle, Camaro and GTO. We also get a couple of new cars from Dealers. We are trying to bolster interest in the automotive repair industry and showcase our program. With the aid of classic restored vehicles and show cars, we are able to have the “curb” appeal to draw youngsters into checking out what is available to them in their own backyard.

If anyone is interested or has questions for him, you can post them here or send me a PM. Thanks! icon_headbang.gif

Viewing 15 replies - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    Anonymous
    Inactive

When is Automotive Career Day? Is it in the Spring or early Summer? I am assuming that it will be held at MATC?

Garibaldi
    Keymaster

I will get more details and let you know!

circletrack
    Participant

Last year it was held in early spring, real early spring. I don’t think most of us had our cars out of storage at that time. Steve took the Camaro he had at the time as they did some work on it. It’s a great idea!

Garibaldi
    Keymaster

I heard back from John today:

Quote:
    The Career Day is slated for April 25th. I realize that weather could still present some potential no-shows, but depending on the number of vehicles we have, we should be able to put them indoors. We would do this later, but schools are out for summer and are having finals during the following weeks.